Not a member? Join now to track your game, create a group, find courses, find golfers, and browse equipment all for FREE.
Black Magic Wedge
Black Magic Wedge Review
By Kickntrue on 8/26/10
** GIVEAWAY OVER **

At oobgolf a lot of companies send us products to review. Sometimes they're from big manufacturers like Nike or TaylorMade, but a lot of times it's lesser known companies looking to get there name out. While I love the chance to check out new products- one of the problems that does unfortunately exist is "clubism" or whatever word does or doesn't exist for unfairly judging a piece of equipment based solely on it's looks and "heritage" rather than it's performance (I guess that's some form of bigotry).

At any rate- I bring this all up, because I was asked to review the Black Magic Wedge which has two major features which make it look quite funky; it looks like a hybrid and the face of the club is in front of the hosel. If Nike had sent me this club and dubbed it the "Super Duper Groove Defying Tiger Woods Loving Sand Defeating Hyper Wedge, VR," I supposed I'd still look at it funny, but I'd probably be swayed to think it was an advancement in technology. I guess the point I'm trying to make is- I worked really hard to give this thing a fair and honest review, without letting preconceived notions of how it should or could perform get in my way.

Here's the skinny. The first full swing I took with the Black Magic wedge from from about 115 yards out. I hit it to 3 feet. It was easily the best wedge shot I hit all day. It felt a little heavy, but with the full shot it wasn't too awkward. It hit a couple more full shots with decent results. As the shots became shorter and required more finesse the "feel" of the club proved to be very different from a blade wedge. Again, the feeling was "heavy." There WAS feel... but I felt like I had to hit shots completely different than I would my EIDOLON wedges (or any traditional blade wedge). Practice could solve the distance issue if you were willing to completely change the way your wedges felt compared to the rest of your set. The Black Magic Wedge was sufficient out of the sand, and I could see a bad bunker player loving it. It eliminated a lot of the guessing and chunk work as you could almost chip the ball out.

The look of the club his hard to get used to. The hybrid look I could get over, but the face being in front of the hosel completely messed with me. Though the company claims that the design helps eliminate shanks and chunking, all I felt like I was going to do was shank or chunk. In fairness to the Black Magic Wedge- I did not have a single chunk or shank, but you'll have to give yourself some time to get used to looking at it.

The Black Magic Wedge can be yours for $99.95 per. I'm not personally going to making the switch, but I do think there is an audience for this club. I have plenty of friends who struggle mightily with their short game who I could see benefiting from this club, especially out of the sand and with those 30-75 yard pitch shots. A newer golfer who won't be thrown off as much by the look could certainly benefit from a Black Magic wedge and anyone who yields to the "hand wedge" in frustration from the sand may want to try it out. Unfortunately- as with a lot of lesser known brands, you're pretty much going to be forced to take a $100 chance on the club if you want to try it. Unlike a Vokey, you're going to have a hard time walking into a store and trying one out.

oobgolf will do our part- and give away the review wedge we have- a 56 degree right hander. If you'd like to be entered in our drawing for the club, leave a comment with the word "ENTER" in CAPS. Feel free to write other comments too- but just have "ENTER" before or after. While it is open to everyone, I'd ask that lower handicappers and those who will never use this club please not apply so that it could get to someone who may be more in the target audience. Thanks!

To Buy, Learn More, and See More Pics Please Visit - http://www.blackmagicwedge.com/


[ comments ]
bobe33 says:
ENTER

I NEED IT!!!
8/26/10
 
nikoicko says:
ENTER
8/26/10
 
mjaber says:
Interesting. Sounds like a "niche" club, similar to the chipper I used to use.
8/26/10
 
birdieXris says:
I remember the days of chippers. My grandfather used to use one (no joke, he really did) and it worked pretty well, but not for much else. He shelved it for a while, but went back in his later years.
8/26/10
 
Reesh33 says:
ENTER
8/26/10
 
rmumph1 says:
ENTER
8/26/10
 
taylortony says:
ENTER
8/26/10
 
taio781 says:
ENTER

I LOVE FUNKY ISH...
8/26/10
 
Banker85 says:
ENTER, so what is the loft?
8/26/10
 
Shallowface says:
ENTER

I'm always interested in offbeat designs. So many of us struggle with the conventional stuff.

Same with swing methods and instruction. I'm always interested in the non-conventional. So few of us are able to make the conventional work. I'd like to see some features here on non-traditional instructors.
8/26/10
 
dc8ce says:
ENTER
8/26/10
 
Swingem says:
Anybody remember the Power-Pod driver? This looks like a Power-Pod Wedge.
8/26/10
 
TravisMiller says:
ENTER
8/26/10
 
jonrae says:
ENTER

Thanks looks neat!
8/26/10
 
ben_jumper says:
ENTER
8/26/10
 
smudryk says:
ENTER
8/26/10
 
nosam says:
ENTER
8/26/10
 
mgranata says:
enter
8/26/10
 
rjchambers2 says:
ENTER
8/26/10
 
robertdav says:
ENTER
8/26/10
 
MAQ says:
Enter
think 25 should qualify as needing some help. :)
8/26/10
 
lud5380 says:
enter
8/26/10
 
Zepo1a says:
ENTER
...The Dragon

Zep--
8/26/10
 
HotBacon says:
I have no desire for this, but have many playing partners who might. So...ENTER.
8/26/10
 
SingleDigits says:
@Banker: you can't be serious about carrying something like that in your bag now that your handicap is less than 10. (congrats BTW). It's 56 degrees as Andrew stated in the last paragraph of his review. :)
8/26/10
 
jefs2box says:
ENTER
8/26/10
 
TeT says:
ENTER

Truly this is the one!!!
8/26/10
 
smatthews says:
ENTER
8/26/10
 
thaman69 says:
ENTER
8/26/10
 
Chosen12b says:
ENTER
8/27/10
 
Panerai111 says:
ENTER! This could be as epic as the HAMMER!
8/27/10
 
Speedly says:
ENTER
8/27/10
 
Sneaky MD says:
ENTER.

Will give anything a go to get away from 19...
8/27/10
 
Dazinkster says:
New/different clubs always intrigue me. E.g. My current irons have no hosel pertruding onto the face, therefore, are shank proof. Anyway, ENTER
8/27/10
 
farazh says:
ENTER
8/27/10
 
Richatvillage says:
ENTER-The original sand iron was a "funky thing"
8/27/10
 
nobaddays says:
enter
8/27/10
 
Matt F says:
ENTER...this thing may help me out of the sand...which is killing me.
8/27/10
 
grady3rd says:
ENTER
8/27/10
 
Banker85 says:
@SingleDigits: Ya, i didnt read the whole article last night. So i officially, and politley retract my "ENTER"

Give it to someone who could use it, and THANKS 9.9 HCP (hey still singledigits!)

Hey i have a 60* EIDOLON wedge KBS Steel Firm, i got from Wedge Guy, used it for 2 rounds, LOVE IT, just want to keep my bag consistent and bought new wedges at beginning of season. So, anyone interested? private message me, its going at good price.
8/27/10
 
ppinkert says:
"ENTER"
Single Digit HCP? one day. One of these days...
8/27/10
 
jeremyheslop says:
I'll ENTER and give it to my wife.
8/27/10
 
bkuehn1952 says:
I would never be able to get over the funky look. @swingem is right, the first thing I thought of when I saw the photo was "Power Pod".
8/27/10
 
wonderladd says:
Looks cool. ENTER
8/27/10
 
carv712 says:
ENTER me in for anything free!
8/27/10
 
tripleace says:
tripleace
"ENTER"
I have had a selection of unusual clubs, including a "miracle" wedge with small metal knobs on the face, a putter that rang like a tuning fork, and a hickory shafted putter that I still use. This Black Magic wedge would fit right in.
8/27/10
 
Duke of Hazards says:
ENTER

There's a guy that frequents my home course driving range that has these (or something very similar). He let me hit w/ them and it's pretty much like you described. Easy to hit solid, but had a heavy feeling.

btw- lol at Panerai's reference to the 'HAMMER' driver above. That is about the most god-awful thing I've ever seen, makes this thing look like a Ferrari.
8/27/10
 
josephmelvin says:
ENTER let's try it out!
8/27/10
 
brianshaffer32 says:
Enter...
8/27/10
 
Clint24 says:
ENTER...why not?
8/27/10
 
Kurt the Knife says:
ENTER

been away, am i too late?

28hcp if that helps
8/29/10
 
Nojdemo2 says:
ENTER
8/30/10
 
phillygolfguy says:
ENTER - new to the game - been playing for one year - 21 handi - can hit it long (275-300 with driver, 250-260 w/ 3 wood). struggle with short game - 25-75 yard pitches and long sand shots. club sounds like it could help me. BTW - love the course finder section of the site - great resource for business trips!
8/30/10
 
smrecspec says:
ENTER I have the worse case of shanks and need a club to help me thru it or I will have to quit after over 20 years of playing. Sharon
9/21/10
 
snkli says:
Sad to say, it couldn't hurt ...
10/18/10
 
ChrisKing says:
ENTER
10/24/10
 
RESCUEMEDIC says:
ENTER
Sounds like a tool that I could really use as I am having trouble in bunkers and short game
11/13/10
 
miranger says:
ENTER
Actually my wife could use this she started golfing about 6 years ago and even though her drives are very good, her pitch shots are killing her scores.
she seems to use mens clubs better than the womens ( only womens that she uses is her driver)..and the local pro convinced her to switch to that and now i think she is actually getting about twenty yards less then when she used a mans driver..who da thunk....
12/5/10
 
WLHILLTOPPER says:
WLHILLTOPPER SAYS:
ENTER

I AM A 24 HANDICAP AND MY SHORT GAME NEEDS HELP. I WOULD DEFINATELY TRY THIS WEDGE..
12/30/10
 
Niramas says:
ENTER
2/1/11
 
jeg7659 says:
ENTER
3/23/11
 
Coach Chuck says:
ENTER for my wife it has to be beter than showing her for the 10,000th time.
8/9/11
 
capony91 says:
enter
8/22/11
 
sam rad says:
ENTER.... I am in need of one !! I also have a pod driver that matches the look! HA!
1/23/12
 
DonandS says:
These have worked very well for me. I'm a 56 y/o 19 handicap. These provide stopping power and loft over all trouble EVERY time with a bit of practice. It doesn't matter what is in front of me within a hundred yards. It doesn't matter how deep the green is. If I select the right club and use a simple, smooth swing, the ball hits the green and stops. IT can be used like a putter nearer the green out of thick fringe, and depending on which wedge I use, 56, 52, 48, I just get more roll...but the ball NEVER takes off like putter sometimes will if you are down hill to the pin.
4/12/12
 
Deker13 says:
Enter...poor sand player and looking for help.
9/11/12
 
Dant3 says:
dant3 says:

poor wedge player-need it
1/9/13
 
Dant3 says:
dan:

enter
3/2/13
 
Weebay says:
ENTER
8/10/13
 
[ post comment ]
 
Most Popular:

Subscribe