Okay, this one is tricky. A player hits a practice ball back to the driving range when walking from the 2nd hole (that he has just finished) to the teeing ground of the 3rd. Is he in breach of 15-3 ("playing a wrong ball")? Is he in breach of rule 7-2 ("practice between holes")?
Here's my take on it, would love to hear your opinion:
He's not in breach of 7-2 since decision 7-2/5 mentions flicking back a DR back to the range with apparently no other intention than cleaning the course. Things may be a bit different though if the player in question takes out his lobwedge and hits the ball over the netting of the range - that really looks like "practice" to me, right?
Now, 15-3 just talks about playing a "wrong ball". Penalty: 2 strokes / loss of hole. Some of my fellow committee members say this counts as a wrong ball and thus het gets penalized for breaching 15-3, but others say it doesn't since the game is "dead" when walking from the green to the next teebox.